The Click of a Button

Time is strange. One minute it feels like life is going so fast not even a high-powered jet could catch up, while other times it feels like even a three-legged duck could waddle faster than the moments seem to be passing. As I waited for that door to open something unusual happened. Time disappeared; my mind raced thinking of every possible scenario (Well maybe not every possible scenario; it’s not like I’m a writer or something).

Anyway, back to the time. I’d never been a huge worrier about being on time. I always thought if it was important enough, they’d wait for me, but this was not one, anyway back to the time. I’d never been a huge worrier about being on time. I always thought if it was important enough they’d wait for me, but this was not one of those moments. In an instant, my life is changed forever. Then one click of a button and BAM, I’m a new person.

Wow, are my palms sweating? I think my palms are sweating. Oh my god, my palms are sweating!!!! Don’t think about it, everything is going to be fine. Just wipe your hands off on your jeans (ok whatever I don’t care if you think I’m gross) and you’ll be a-okay. Okay I’m a girl waiting for a life changing moment no big deal it’s fine, I’m fine.

“Clarice?”

(At this moment I’d like to let you know that I was screaming internally, but on the outside, I was as cool as a feather wait that’s not the saying…)

“Yes?”

“Congratulations.”

And in that moment I swear my heart leapt out of my chest.

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Click of a Button

  1. Hello to anyone reading this story! I’m the author of this piece and I’m trying out a new series where I let the reader create their own ending in their mind or here in the comment section. I’d love to know your thoughts on what Clarice’s “life changing” event was in your mind! I would love to create a fun place for our little community to come together and talk!

    Like

  2. I love the premise!! I’m going to go with something life altering, but not life or death… the nervousness she displays seems to be over something she’s worked hard at, but her language and tone too casual to be of utmost urgency. I would say Clarice has been waiting on the results of a random talent search and just been signed up with a major record label to cut her first album.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

