The Late Night Us

I fell in love with the idea of us

Late nights, dreaming of what we could be

I’d think about a future that could be ours

The late night talks we would have

You sleeping beside me each night

I fell in love with the person I created in my mind

I fell in love with the idea that I thought love should be

But I wasn’t ready for the real thing

I wasn’t ready to open up to someone

Be completely vulnerable

I wasn’t ready to believe someone could love me

I still find it hard to believe someone could love me enough to look past my scars

So instead of searching for a real and true love, I lay at night dreaming of the unconditional love I long for

Leave a Reply

